Power of impeachment, Constitutional Law

1. Who may be impeached

The following may be impeached:

1) The President;

2) The Vice-President;

3) The Members of the Supreme Court;

4) The Members of the Constitutional Commissions; and,

5) The Ombudsman. (Section 2, Article XI, 1987 Constitution)

a. Grounds

The above-mentioend impeachable officers may be removed from office, on impeachment for, and conviction of:

1) Culpable violation of the Constitution;

2) Treason;

3) Bribery

4) Graft and corruption;

5) Other high crimes; or,

6) Betrayal of public trust. (Ibid.)

b. Procedure

1) Verified Complaint filed before House of Representatives

The House of Representatives shall have the exclusive power to initiate all cases of impeachment. (Section 3[1], Article XI, Ibid.)

A verified complaint for impeachment may be filed:

1) By any Member of the House of Representatives; or,

2) By any citizen upon a resolution of endorsement by any Member thereof. (Section 3[2], Article XI, Ibid.)

The verified complaint which shall be included in the Order of Business within ten (10) session days, and referred to the proper Committee within three (3) session days thereafter. (Ibid.)

2) House Resolution

The Committee, after hearing, and by a majority vote of all its Members, shall submit its report to the House within sixty (60) session days from such referral, together with the corresponding resolution. The resolution shall be calendared for consideration by the House within te...

Already a subscriber? Log in below. Not yet a member? Subscribe. No advertisements when you are logged in.

Similar Posts